National Events

The AFL runs the Toyota AFL National Inclusion Carnival and the Toyota National Wheelchair Championships.

Toyota AFL National Inclusion Carnival

The AFL National Inclusion Carnival is an annual representative competition for participants aged 16+ with intellectual disabilities. It allows Australia’s top footballers to represent their state or territory, while showcasing their significant abilities to the broader community.

The carnival sees two teams of 12 compete on the field, with 4 on the bench. It follows traditional Australian Football rules and is classified under Sport Inclusion Australia, meaning players must meet guidelines to ensure the integrity of the game is upheld.   

Although football is the key focus of the carnival, players also develop other skills through a series of education sessions, clinics with local special schools, and simply living away from home for the week. The aim of the carnival is to develop these footballers into well-rounded role models within their community.

For the Carnival By-Laws please, click here.

To find out more about the Inclusion Carnival, please contact us.

Toyota National Wheelchair AFL Championships

The AFL and Disability Sports Australia in partnership host the Toyota Wheelchair AFL National Championships, which is an annual representative carnival for the nation’s best wheelchair athletes from across the country.

The Championships provide Australia’s most talented footballers the chance to represent their state/territory and showcase their abilities to the broader community.

For the Championships By-Laws, please click here.

To find out more about the Championships, click here or please contact us.